Der Leiermann

The whole world of classical culture

The latest contributions

The Sachertorte

The Sachertorte

The Sachertorte by Thomas StieglerCakes, as we know them today, have not been around that long. Yet the term cake appears as early as the beginning of the 15th century, as tortum, derived from the Latin "torquere", which means to turn. So, as you can imagine, a cake...

To the distant one

To the distant one

To the distant one by Thomas SiemensTo the distant one - Johann Kaspar Mertz"Is this really how I lost you? Have you, O fair one, escaped me? Still ringing in your ears Every word, every sound."   Thus begins the poem "To the Distant" by J. W. v. Goethe. A piece...

The history of the suite

The history of the suite

The history of the suite by Thomas StieglerI know of some people who do not understand why there should be a symphony by Haydn or Brahms in addition to "the symphony" by Beethoven. Not to mention the fact that Beethoven apparently wrote more than one work of the same...

Get to know our main topics

Our authors strive to cover important chapters of cultural history as comprehensively as possible. So browse through our focus categories, from the history of Austria to the development of the flute to the contributions of our city writers explaining and showing individual cities.

There will be more from the Leiermann soon!

 

 

 

Also on social media

Der Leiermann

Die ganze Welt der klassischen Kultur

Die neuesten Beiträge

Herr der Fliegen

Herr der Fliegen

Herr der Fliegen von Thomas Stiegler Unsere Generation scheint vergessen zu haben, was ihre wichtigste Aufgabe ist – nämlich die Grundlagen unserer Kultur zu bewahren und weiterzugeben, damit die nächste Generation ein Fundament hat, auf dem sie ihre eigenen,...

Die Reise eines Granatapfels

Die Reise eines Granatapfels

Die Reise eines Granatapfels   von Oğuzhan Büyük Die Reise eines Granat-apfels   von Oğuzhan BüyükHistorische Gemälde ziehen nicht nur viel Publikum an, sondern sorgen zudem auch für viel Gesprächsstoff. Sie sind nicht nur Kunstwerke einer früheren Epoche, die über...

Lernen Sie unsere Schwerpunkte kennen

Unsere Autorinnen und Autoren bemühen sich, wichtige Kapitel der Kulturgeschichte möglichst umfassend zu behandeln. Stöbern Sie deshalb durch unsere Schwerpunkt-Kategorien, von der Geschichte Österreichs über die Entwicklung der Flöte bis hin zu den Beiträgen unserer StadtschreiberInnen, die einzelen Städte erklären und zeigen.

Lernen Sie unsere Schwer- punkte kennen

Unsere Autorinnen und Autoren bemühen sich, wichtige Kapitel der Kulturgeschichte möglichst umfassend zu behandeln.

das neueste

Bald wird es auch Podcasts und Videokurse geben

Erleben Sie die Welt der klassischen Kultur auch in Videoform kennen. Oder genießen Sie unsere Beiträge als Podcast!

 

Auch auf Social Media