Emanuel Schikaneder

 

by Katharina Mölk

Emanuel Schikaneder was born on September 1, 1751. Although he wrote 55 operas, plays and songs in his lifetime, he is best known for writing the text of The Magic Flute, having the play performed in his theater and playing the role of Papageno himself.

Because of his birthday I write a short report about his life. But note: I have found different reports and tried to write down what matches. So if anyone has more information, I’m happy to read it in the comments (on Facebook or Twitter).

Actually, his birth name was Johann Joseph Schikaneder when he was born on September 1, 1751 in Straubing, Bavaria. Music and theater played a major role in his youth: he received music lessons in Regensburg, was a member of the Regensburger Domspatzen, and from 1773 joined the “Moserschen Schauspielgesellschaft”. With this troupe he went on tour – first as an actor, then as a director. In 1777 he married the actress Maria Magdalena Art. She called herself Eleonore, he called himself Emanuel – resonant and fitting names for the artistic couple who now ran the Augsburg theater.

The couple decided to move to Vienna, where they separated in 1785. Eleonore founded a theater company with Johann Friedel, with which they toured Europe and finally managed a theater in Vienna permanently from 1788.

In the meantime, Emanuel played at the Kärntnertortheater and the Burgtheater. However, he wanted to build his own theater house in front of the Kärntnertor, but was forbidden to do so. So in 1787 he left Vienna with his theater troupe and went to Regensburg.

After the death of Johann Friedell in 1789, Eleonore reconciled with Emanuel and brought him to Vienna. Now they performed together in the newly built Freihaustheater. This was part of the largest residential block in Vienna at the time – the Freihaus on the Wieden. Schikaneder’s play “Der dumme Anton im Gebirge” was performed at the opening of the theater on July 12, 1789.

Wiener Burgtheater, ©TTstudio

However, another piece became a box office hit: the opera “The Magic Flute” was premiered at the Freihaustheater on September 30, 1791. Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, who had composed the music, conducted himself, while Emanuel Schikaneder played the role of Papageno, the bird catcher. The success of this opera now fulfilled Schikaneder’s dream: thanks to the high income and with the help of the merchant Bartholomäus Zitterbarth, he was now able to build his own theater – the Theater an der Wien on the other side of the Vienna River (near today’s Naschmarkt). This new theater opened in 1801 with Schikaneder’s opera “Alexander”; he was to direct it until 1804.

Schikaneder was even able to purchase a baroque palace in Nußdorf, which is known today as the Lehár-Schikaneder-Schlössl. However, as a result of the devaluation of money due to the Napoleonic wars, he lost his last fortune and died mentally deranged in Vienna in 1812.

Eleonore survived him by 9 years and died in the Theater an der Wien.

Some more information:

– The brothers Ludwig and Kaspar van Beethoven lived in the Theater an der Wien in the spring of 1803.

– In 1861, Schikanedergasse was named after him in the 4th district of Vienna.

– Like Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Schikaneder was also a Freemason, and he was admitted to the Regensburg lodge Carl zu den drei Schlüsseln.

– While Schikander profited enormously from the “Magic Flute”, Mozart could not enjoy it for long. He died already 2 months after the premiere and since there was no copyright in the 18th century in today’s sense, his family did not receive anything from the further income.

– A musical was dedicated to Emanuel and Eleonore Schikaneder in 2016: “SCHIKANEDER – the turbulent love story behind the Magic Flute”, Vereinigte Bühnen Wien

Do you always want to be informed about our latest activities?

Read more:

The Sachertorte

The origins of the operetta

The life of Ida Presti

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Emanuel Schikaneder

 

von Katharina Mölk

Am 1. September 1751 wurde Emanuel Schikaneder geboren. Obwohl er in seinem Leben 55 Opern, Theater-, und Singstücke textete, ist er vor allem dafür bekannt, dass er den Text zur „Zauberflöte“ schrieb, das Stück in seinem Theater aufführen ließ und auch selbst die Rolle des Papagenos spielte.

Aufgrund seines Geburtstages schreibe ich einen kurzen Bericht über sein Leben. Aber Achtung: ich habe verschiedene Berichte gefunden und versucht das Übereinstimmende aufzuschreiben. Wenn also jemand mehr Informationen hat, freue ich mich, sie in den Kommentaren (auf Facebook oder Twitter) zu lesen.

Eigentlich war sein Geburtsname Johann Joseph Schikaneder als er am 1. September 1751 in Straubing (Bayern) geboren wurde. Musik und Theater spielten schon in seiner Jugend eine große Rolle: er erhielt Musikunterreicht in Regensburg, war Mitglied der Regensburger Domspatzen und schloss sich ab 1773 der „Moserschen Schauspielgesellschaft“ an. Mit dieser Truppe begab er sich auf Tournee – zuerst als Schauspieler, dann als Regisseur. 1777 heiratete er die Schauspielerin Maria Magdalena Art. Sie nannte sich Eleonore, er nannte sich Emanuel – klingende und zusammenpassende Namen für das Künstlerpaar, das nun das Augsburger Theater leitete.

Das Ehepaar beschloss nach Wien zu ziehen, wo sie sich aber 1785 trennten. Eleonore gründete mit Johann Friedel eine Schauspielturppe mit der sie durch Europa tourten und schließlich ab 1788 dauerhaft ein Theater in Wien leiteten.

Emanuel spielte inzwischen am Kärntnertortheater und am Burgtheater. Allerdings wollte er ein eigenes Theaterhaus vor dem Kärntnertor errichten, was ihm jedoch untersagt wurde. Also verließ er 1787 mit seiner Theatertruppe Wien und ging nach Regensburg.

Nach dem Tod von Johann Friedell 1789 versöhnte sich Eleonore mit Emanuel und holte ihn nach Wien. Nun bespielten sie gemeinsam das neu errichtete Freihaustheater. Dieses war Teil das damals größten Wohnblocks in Wien – dem Freihaus auf der Wieden. Zur Eröffnung des Theaters am 12. Juli 1789 wurde Schikaneders Stück „Der dumme Anton im Gebirge“ aufgeführt.

Wiener Burgtheater, ©TTstudio

Zum Kassenschlager wurde jedoch ein anderes Stück: die Oper „Die Zauberflöte“ wurde im Freihaustheater am 30. September 1791 uraufgeführt. Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, der die Musik komponiert hatte, dirigierte selbst, während Emanuel Schikaneder die Rolle des Vogelfängers Papageno spielte. Die Erfolge dieser Oper erfüllten nun Schikaneders Traum: durch die hohen Einnahmen und mit Hilfe des Kaufmanns Bartholomäus Zitterbarth konnte er nun ein eigenes Theater errichten – das Theater an der Wien auf der anderen Seite des Wienflusses (beim heutigen Naschmarkt). Dieses neue Theater wurde 1801 mit Schikaneders Oper „Alexander“ eröffnet; er sollte es bis ins Jahr 1804 leiten.

Schikaneder konnte sogar ein Barockpalais in Nußdorf erwerben, das heute als Lehár-Schikaneder-Schlössl bekannt ist. Doch infolge der Geldabwertung durch die napoleonischen Kriege verlor er sein letztes Vermögen und starb 1812 geistig verwirrt in Wien.

Eleonore überlebte ihn um 9 Jahre und starb im Theater an der Wien.

 

Noch ein paar Informationen:

– Die Brüder Ludwig und Kaspar van Beethoven wohnten im Frühjahr 1803 im Theater an der Wien.

– 1861 wurde im 4. Wiener Gemeindebezirk die Schikanedergasse nach ihm benannt.

– Wie Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart war auch Schikaneder Freimaurer und zwar wurde er in der Regensburger Loge Carl zu den drei Schlüsseln aufgenommen.

– Während Schikander von der „Zauberflöte“ enorm profitierte, konnte sich Mozart nicht lange daran erfreuen. Er starb bereits 2 Monate nach der Uraufführung und da es im 18. Jahrhundert noch kein Copyright im heutigen Sinn gab, erhielt seine Familie auch nichts von den weiteren Einnahmen.

– Emanuel und Eleonore Schikaneder wurde 2016 ein Musical gewidmet: „SCHIKANEDER – die turbulente Liebesgeschichte hinter der Zauberflöte“, Vereinigte Bühnen Wien

Wollen Sie immer über die neuesten Aktivitäten informiert werden?

Alle Artikel zu Österreich und Wien

Der Augsburger Stadtschreiber

Die Leiermann Buchreihe