Johann Joachim Quantz

by Anja Weinberger

Johann Joachim Quantz was born in Oberschede in the Electorate of Hanover in 1697. He is one of the few personalities of that time who left an autobiography. So it is relatively easy for us to trace his life, even if one would like to assume that one or the other passage of the self-written biography is at least subjective.

In order to be able to place Quantz in the course of history, here are some marginal notes: Johann Sebastian Bach is 12 years old in 1697, Telemann 16 years old. That year in Paris, the new French operas of Campra and Destouches celebrated great success. Purcell’s trio sonatas are published posthumously in London. Saxony’s ruler Augustus the Strong is elected king of Poland, Prince Eugene of Savoy defeats the Ottomans in the Great Turkish War. Louis XIV reigns in France, Elector Maximilian II in Bavaria. Emanuel and in Prussia it is said to take another 15 years until Frederick the Great is born and 43 years until he will ascend the throne.

So now J.J. Quantz is born as the 5th child into the family of a blacksmith. Both parents die before he is 10 years old, and his uncle Justus Quantz, at that time town musician in Merseburg, takes him in. Johann Joachim reports that all brothers and sisters of the parents have offered the orphaned children family connection. A wide variety of professions are involved and Johann Joachim decides to become a musician. Unfortunately, his uncle also dies after a few months, but his son-in-law takes over the position along with the young nephew’s education.

He now learns the oboe, trumpet and violin “on which a right art whistler must be able to play”. Playing the piano is not absolutely necessary in this position. Johann Joachim, however, is interested in the harmony instrument and receives lessons from another relative. Quantz expressly praises his piano teacher: “(He) did not have the fault of most of his contemporaries, who (only) fall in love with the stiffness… of antiquity. He knew how to choose (also) good (new) musical pieces… This gave me an advantage at that time, from which I still benefited in later years.” In spite of everything, however, the violin remains his favourite instrument and he was already able to play works by Corelli and Telemann when he was released at the age of 16 in December 1713 and went looking for work.

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

These are exciting months: Prince Friedrich Erdmann, the brother of the Duke of Merseburg, dies shortly after his wedding and a three-month silence is ordered – difficult for a musician looking for a job. And in Radeberg, Quantz experiences how in a few hours the whole town burns down after a lightning strike – he, trapped by the flames, survives with luck and moves on.

In June 1714, he finally becomes a town piper in Pirna. This brought him several kilometres closer to his declared goal of Dresden. And the most important thing from his point of view: “In Pirna I got to see the Vivaldi violin concertos for the first time. They made… no small impression on me. The magnificent ritornelle… have… served me… as a good example.” But he’s not really satisfied yet. And some restless months follow, as he also has to fulfil obligations in Merseburg, after the period of mourning has passed.

Finally Gottfried Hayne calls him to Dresden to the Stadtkapelle. He arrives there in March 1716. Illustrious names can be found here among the members of the royal orchestra – the other orchestra of the city. Pisendel is concertmaster, Buffardin plays the flute. Moreover, Quantz notes that much higher demands are made on the musician than “simply meeting the notes”. In Dresden, the “equal (= balanced, even, French origin) way of performing” has long since arrived. Before Pisendel, the Frenchman Volumier was the concertmaster and he helped the orchestra to achieve “a special pile” and “such delicacy of execution”. Johann Joachim is full of admiration and ambition. He soaks up everything that is presented around him and is thinking of exchanging the art whistling trade for that of a royal musician.

This time a three-month court mourning suits him – the mother of August II dies. Quantz sets off on his first major journey. He makes a tour of Silesia, Moravia, Austria and Prague. In Vienna he meets Zelenka and takes lessons in counterpoint. On this journey he may also have encountered other impressions of the colourful and creative musical life with its various manifestations of the late baroque.

1718 is the year. He becomes oboist in the “Polish Capelle” at the court of Elector August II in Dresden. He soon noticed that this instrument did not offer him any opportunities for advancement. For all his colleagues have been in service for a long time and are therefore preferred for promotions. He takes lessons with Buffardin, the famous French first flutist of the Dresden court orchestra.
Thus the “flute traversiere” enters his life. And the task of expanding the repertoire and possibilities of this instrument will determine his life from now on.

For hardly had he switched to the flute than Quantz noticed that there is little literature for the new instrument (“At that time, there were not many pieces that were actually set for the flute. They made do with hobo or violin pieces that everyone could use themselves”.) The friendship with Pisendel, who is 10 years older, becomes closer and closer. The violin virtuoso impresses him with his diligence, his integrity and above all with his “exceptionally touching way of playing”. Pisendel encourages him to compose and Quantz learns eagerly. Pisendel, who was born in Franconia, met Vivaldi a few years earlier during a trip to Italy, with whom he has since become a close friend and to whom he has dedicated many works. And through the presence of several French musicians at the Dresden court, Pisendel also got to know and appreciate their music. Quantz has now made this exciting mixture his own. “If one knows how to choose the best from different peoples’ tastes … then a mixed taste flows from it, which, without going beyond the boundaries of modesty, one could now call … the German taste.”

In Germany, impoverished and divided by the Thirty Years’ War, no musical style of its own could develop until then. And it is now becoming apparent that the creative powers of the musical talents, which are available in large numbers, are stimulated and brought to fruition by outside influences. The ‘sensitive’ or ‘gallant style’ begins to emerge. An important characteristic of this new style is also the turning towards the music lover or amateur musician, who has hardly played a role, if at all, until now. And from this in turn the consequence is that the music must not be too learned, too complicated, in short, too heavy. Instead, feelings and passions should be expressed. A 180° turn, then, because just a moment ago music was considered an image of the divine order, now it should be an image of the human soul.

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

And the new impressions multiply.

In 1719 you can marvel at Italian operas in Dresden on the occasion of the wedding of the Saxon electoral prince Friedrich August with the Austrian emperor’s daughter Josepha. The Zwinger there was built especially for this festival and the most famous singers of the time were invited. Quantz carefully studies their strengths, their ranges and their different techniques of expression and decoration.

In 1723 he was allowed to travel to Prague for the coronation of Charles VI. This event was celebrated with great pomp and music played an important role in it. Johann Joseph Fux composed the opera ‘Constanza e fortezza’ especially for this celebration and adapted it to the course of the courtly ceremony. Antonio Caldara is the musical director.

And in 1724 the time had finally come. The opportunity arose to travel to Italy with the Count of Lagnasco. There he meets the aged Gasparini, who teaches him counterpoint. He meets Scarlatti, who had just arrived from Portugal, and Johann Adolph Hasse, the later Saxon Kapellmeister. Here, too, he listens and looks closely and reports in great detail on techniques, vocal ranges and skills. He meets the castrato Farinelli in Naples and his musical role model Vivaldi in Venice.

From Turin he finally travels on to France with royal permission and support. In Paris he hears Blavet and Naudot playing the flute. They become friends, pondering together over disagreements on the flute. And soon Quantz adds a second key to the single key flute, which was common until then – the beginning of modern flute making.

Quantz travels back via England. There again follows a close look at the singers, church music and opera performances, of which there are many in London in 1727. Of course he also meets Handel, who would have liked to keep him in England. Finally Quantz travels via Amsterdam, Hanover and Brunswick back to Dresden.

Now follows a time of reflection, probably the sorting of impressions. He begins to develop his own style of composition. He creates solo sonatas for flute, but also trio sonatas for different instruments. In 1728 he is then hired as a full member of the Royal Saxon Court Chapel. From now on he only plays the flute.
In this capacity, the then Prussian Crown Prince – later Frederick the Great – heard him during a visit to the Saxon court. And on his return visit to Berlin, Queen Sophie Dorothea engaged him as flute teacher for the very musical and sensitive Crown Prince. His father, Soldier King Frederick William I, was reluctant to see these activities (Quantz will later report that he once had to hide in a cupboard from Frederick’s father during an inspection). Twice a year Quantz now travels to Berlin to teach Frederick the flute and the basics of composition.

In 1733 August the Strong dies and his son August III comes to power. In 1737 the 40-year-old Quantz marries the widow Anna Rosina Carolina Schindler. The marriage does not seem happy and remains childless. In 1739 Quantz begins “to drill his own flutes due to a lack of good ones”. And in 1740 Frederick II ascends the Prussian throne after the death of his father.

The new King of Prussia makes his music teacher Quantz an offer he cannot refuse. They move to Berlin. 2000 Thaler annual salary for life (in Dresden it was once 216 Thaler, at the end 800), special payments for compositions, 1oo ducats for each flute delivered. In addition, he is only to be subordinate to the king and no other superior. In 1741 in December, Johann Joachim Quantz enters the Royal Prussian Service as Royal Chamber Musician. He is by far the highest paid instrumentalist of the King.

At the Prussian court in Berlin and Potsdam he now gives lessons to the King almost daily and is the only one who enjoys the privilege of being allowed to criticize him. Quantz conducts house concerts and composes. He continues to build flutes and thinks about passing on knowledge. This resulted in the “Versuch einer Anweisung einer Anweisung, die Flöte traversiere spielen”, published in 1752. The work met with a great response, was immediately published in several European languages and has been reprinted many times to this day.

It is a study work that reflects the flute’s playing through and through. Not only are instrument-specific problems examined, but also questions of practical performance practice are answered and further innovations in flute making are explained. The reader and prospective musicus are given insights into all facets of musical life. “Of the qualities required of one who wants to devote himself to music”, “Of the duties of those who accompagny” or “Of the way to play the Adagio” are only three of the many chapter headings. Likewise, it provides information about contemporaries of the time such as Vivaldi or Bach. In addition, it is also important to him to present his point of view, which was influenced by his time in Dresden, in the fiercely held aesthetic debate of his Berlin colleagues (French versus Italian taste). And Quantz had the sum of his teaching views represented in the final vignette: seven musicians grouped around a harpsichord and a singer. For it is still singing that is to be the guiding principle of the art of flute playing.

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Johann Joachim Quantz writes almost 200 sonatas for flute and 300 concertos, plus chamber music for various instrumentations. These works form the core of the repertoire which Friedrich performs in his famous private concerts. One such concert is, by the way, presented on Adolph von Menzel’s ‘Flute Concerto in Sanssoucis’. Both Quantz, as well as Franz Benda, Carl Heinrich Graun, Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach and Amalie of Prussia (besides Wilhelmine, married to Bayreuth, another sister of the Crown Prince – she also composes) can be recognized on it along with Frederick II.

Quantz remained at the Prussian court until the end of his life in 1773. A sonata unfinished at his death is completed by the king himself – an extremely appreciative gesture. Frederick has his royal chamber musician erected an elaborate funeral monument with sculptures of the Räntz brothers.

Johann Joachim Quantz is remembered by posterity above all for his “Attempt at an Instruction”. For not only for flutists is this volume an almost limitless source of information beyond the instrument. But his works also accompany us flutists throughout our lives – from a small duet to a grand concert, there is something for every situation in life. And: Quantz was in the right place at the right time when the first big step towards creating a distinctive ‘German style’ was taken in Dresden.

The quotations in italics are from:

Johann Joachim Quantz, “Versuch einer Anweisung die Flöte traversiere zu spielen”, Bärenreiter-Verlag

“Herrn Johann Joachim Quantzens Lebenslauf, von ihm selbst entworfen”, erschienen in “Historisch-Kritische Beyträge zur Aufnahme der Musik” 1755, Herausgeber Friedrich Wilhelm Marpurg

Do you always want to be informed about the latest activities?
Cultural history of Viennese cuisine
The story of Selma Lagerlöf
The origin of the operetta

Johann Joachim Quantz

von Anja Weinberger

Johann Joachim Quantz wurde 1697 in Oberschede im Kurfürstentum Hannover geboren. Er gehört zu den wenigen Persönlichkeiten jener Zeit, die eine Autobiographie hinterlassen haben.   So ist es für uns relativ leicht sein Leben nachzuzeichnen, selbst wenn man davon ausgehen möchte, dass die eine oder andere Passage des selbst niedergeschriebenen Lebenslaufes zumindest subjektiv ist.

Um Quantz in den Lauf der Geschichte einordnen zu können, hier einige Randnotizen: Johann Sebastian Bach ist 1697 12 Jahre, Telemann 16 Jahre alt. In jenem Jahr feiern in Paris die neuen französischen Opern von Campra und Destouches große Erfolge.  Purcells Triosonaten werden posthum in London veröffentlicht. Sachsens Herrscher August der Starke wird zum polnischen  König gewählt, Prinz Eugen von Savoyen besiegt die Osmanen im Großen Türkenkrieg. In Frankreich regiert Ludwig XIV., in Bayern Kurfürst Maximilian II. Emanuel und in Preußen soll es noch 15 Jahre dauern, bis Friedrich der Große geboren und 43 Jahre bis er den Thron besteigen wird.

Nun wird J.J. Quantz also als 5. Kind in die Familie eines Hufschmieds geboren. Beide Eltern sterben vor seinem 10. Lebensjahr, und der Onkel Justus Quantz, zu dieser Zeit Stadtmusikus in Merseburg, nimmt ihn auf. Johann Joachim berichtet, dass alle Brüder und Schwestern der Eltern den verwaisten Kindern Familienanschluss angeboten haben. Die verschiedensten Berufe stehen dabei im Raume und Johann Joachim entscheidet sich für die Musik. Unglücklicherweise stirbt auch jener Onkel nach wenigen Monaten, doch dessen Schwiegersohn übernimmt die Stelle samt der Ausbildung des jungen Neffen.

Dieser erlernt nun u.a. Oboe, Trompete und Violine „auf welchen ein rechter Kunstpfeifer muß spielen können“. Klavierspiel ist nicht unbedingt nötig in dieser Position. Johann Joachim jedoch interessiert sich für das Harmonieinstrument und bekommt Unterricht von einem anderen Verwandten. Quantz lobt seinen Klavierlehrer ausdrücklich: „(Er) hatte nicht den Fehler seiner meisten Kunstgenossen, welche sich (nur) in das Steife… des Alterthums verlieben. Er wußte (auch) gute (neue) musikalische Stücke zu wählen… Dieses schaffte mir damals einen Vortheil, woraus ich noch in späteren Jahren viel Nutzen gezogen habe.“ Trotz allem bleibt aber die Violine sein Lieblingsinstrument und er kann bereits Werke von Corelli und Telemann spielen, als er im Dezember 1713 16jährig losgesprochen wird und auf Arbeitssuche geht.

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Aufregende Monate sind das: Prinz Friedrich Erdmann, der Bruder des Merseburger Herzogs,  stirbt kurz nach seiner Hochzeit und ein dreimonatiges Stillschweigen der Musik wird angeordnet – schwierig für einen Musiker auf Stellensuche. Und in Radeberg erlebt Quantz, wie in wenigen Stunden die ganze Stadt nach einem Blitzschlag niederbrennt – er, eingeschlossen von den Flammen, überlebt mit Glück und zieht weiter.

Im Juni 1714 wird er schließlich Stadtpfeifer in Pirna. Damit ist er seinem erklärten Ziel Dresden schon um einige Kilometer näher gekommen. Und das Wichtigste aus seiner Sicht: „In Pirna bekam ich die Vivaldischen Violinconcerte zum erstenmale zu sehen. Sie machten… bey mir einen nicht geringen Eindruck. Die prächtigen Ritornelle … haben mir … zu einem guten Muster gedienet.“ Wirklich zufrieden ist er aber noch nicht. Und es folgen einige unruhige Monate, da er auch noch Verbindlichkeiten in Merseburg ableisten muss, nachdem die Trauerzeit dort verstrichen ist.

Schließlich ruft ihn Gottfried Hayne nach Dresden zur Stadtkapelle. Dort kommt er im März 1716 an. Illustre Namen sind hier unter den Mitgliedern des königlichen Orchesters anzutreffen – des anderen Orchesters der Stadt. Pisendel ist Konzertmeister, Buffardin spielt die Flöte. Außerdem stellt  Quantz fest, dass deutlich höhere Ansprüche an den Musiker gestellt werden als  „das bloße Treffen der Noten“. In Dresden ist die „egale (=ausgeglichen, ebenmäßig, aus Frankreich stammende) Art des Vortrags“ längst angekommen. Vor Pisendel war nämlich der Franzose Volumier Konzertmeister und der verhalf dem Orchester zu „besonderem Flor“ und zu „solcher Feinigkeit der Ausführung“. Johann Joachim ist voller Bewunderung und Ehrgeiz. Er saugt alles auf, was um ihn herum präsentiert wird und denkt darüber nach, das Kunstpfeifer-Gewerbe gegen das eines königlichen Musikuses zu tauschen.

Diesmal kommt ihm eine dreimonatige Hoftrauer gelegen – die Mutter Augusts II. stirbt. Quantz bricht zu seiner ersten größeren Reise auf. Er macht eine Runde über Schlesien, Mähren, Österreich und Prag. In Wien trifft er dabei Zelenka und lässt sich im Kontrapunkt unterrichten. Und auch andere Eindrücke des farben – und gestaltreichen Musiklebens mit seinen unterschiedlichsten Erscheinungsformen des Spätbarock dürften ihm auf dieser Reise begegnet sein.

1718 ist es dann soweit. Er wird Oboist in der „Polnischen Capelle“ am Hofe Kurfürst Augusts II. in Dresden. Schnell bemerkt er, dass ihm mit diesem Instrument keinerlei Aufstiegsmöglichkeiten offen stehen. Denn all seine Kollegen sind schon länger im Dienst und werden deshalb bei Beförderungen vorgezogen. Er nimmt Unterricht bei Buffardin, dem berühmten französischen Ersten Flötisten der Dresdner Hofkapelle.

So tritt die „Flöte traversiere“  in sein Leben. Und die Aufgabe, das Repertoire und die Möglichkeiten dieses Instrumentes zu erweitern werden sein Leben von jetzt an bestimmen.

Denn kaum zur Flöte gewechselt, stellt Quantz fest, dass es für das neue Instrument nur wenig Literatur gibt („Damals hatte man noch nicht viele Stücke, die eigentlich für die Flöte gesetzt waren. Man behalf sich mit Hoboen – oder Violinstücken, die ein jeder selbst… brauchbar machte.“). Die Freundschaft zum 10 Jahre älteren Pisendel wird immer enger. Der Violinvirtuose beeindruckt ihn durch seinen Fleiß, seine Rechtschaffenheit und vor allem durch seine „ausnehmend rührende Art“ zu spielen. Pisendel ermuntert ihn zur Komposition und Quantz lernt begierig. Der gebürtige Franke Pisendel hat einige Jahre zuvor auf einer Italienreise Vivaldi kennengelernt, mit dem ihn seitdem eine herzliche Freundschaft verbindet und der ihm viele Werke gewidmet hat. Und durch die Anwesenheit einiger französischer Musiker am Dresdner Hof hat Pisendel auch deren Musik kennen und schätzen gelernt. Diese spannende Mischung machte sich Quantz nun also zu eigen. „Wenn man aus verschiedener Völker ihrem Geschmacke … das Beste zu wählen weis: So fliesset daraus ein vermischter Geschmack, welchen man, ohne die Gränzen der Bescheidenheit zu überschreiten, nunmehr … den deutschen Geschmack nennen könnte.“

Im durch den Dreißigjährigen Krieg verarmten und  auch gespaltenen Deutschland konnte sich bis dahin nämlich kein eigener musikalischer Stil entwickeln. Und es zeigt sich nun, dass die schöpferischen Kräfte der ja in großer Anzahl vorhandenen Musikbegabungen durch die Einflüsse von außen angeregt und zur Entfaltung gebracht werden. Der ‚empfindsame‘ oder ‚galante Stil‘ beginnt zu entstehen. Ein wichtiges Merkmal dieses neuen Stils ist auch die Hinwendung zum Musikliebhaber bzw. Laienmusiker, der bis jetzt kaum eine, ja gar keine Rolle gespielt hat. Und daraus wiederum ergibt sich die Konsequenz, dass die Musik nicht zu gelehrt, zu kompliziert, kurz zu schwer sein darf. Stattdessen sollen Gefühle und Leidenschaften ausgedrückt werden. Eine 180°-Wendung also, denn gerade eben noch wurde Musik als Abbild der göttlichen Ordnung betrachtet, nun soll sie ein Abbild der menschlichen Seele sein.

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Und die neuen Eindrücke mehren sich.

1719 kann man in Dresden anlässlich der Hochzeit des sächsischen Kurprinzen Friedrich August mit der österreichischen Kaisertochter Josepha italienische Opern bestaunen. Der dortige Zwinger wurde extra für dieses Fest erbaut und die berühmtesten Sänger der Zeit eingeladen. Quantz studiert ganz genau ihre Stärken, ihre Tonumfänge und ihre unterschiedlichen Ausdrucks – und Verzierungstechniken.

1723 darf er dann nach Prag zur Krönung Karls VI. reisen. Dieses Ereignis wird mit großem Pomp begangen und Musik spielte dabei eine wichtige Rolle. Johann Joseph Fux hat die Oper ‚Constanza e fortezza‘ eigens für diese Feierlichkeiten komponiert und dem Ablauf der höfischen Zeremonie angepasst. Die musikalische Leitung übernimmt Antonio Caldara.

Und 1724 ist es dann endlich soweit. Es ergibt sich die Möglichkeit mit dem Grafen von Lagnasco nach Italien zu reisen. Dort begegnet er dem greisen Gasparini, von dem er sich im Kontrapunkt unterweisen lässt. Er lernt den gerade aus Portugal angereisten Scarlatti kennen und Johann Adolph Hasse, den späteren sächsischen Kapellmeister. Auch hier hört und sieht er genau hin und berichtet äußerst detailliert von Techniken, Stimmlagen, Fertigkeiten. Er trifft den Kastraten Farinelli  in Neapel und sein musikalisches Vorbild Vivaldi in Venedig.

Von Turin aus reist er schließlich mit königlicher Erlaubnis und Unterstützung weiter nach Frankreich. In Paris hört er Blavet und Naudot die Flöte spielen. Man freundet sich an, grübelt gemeinsam über Unstimmigkeiten auf der Flöte. Und schon bald fügt Quantz der bis dahin üblichen Einklappen-Flöte eine zweite Klappe bei – der Beginn des modernen Flötenbaus.

Zurück reist Quantz über England. Dort folgen wieder  genaue Betrachtungen der Sänger, der Kirchenmusik und der Opernaufführungen, deren es im London des Jahres 1727 sehr viele gibt. Natürlich trifft er auch Händel, der ihn gerne in England behalten hätte. Schließlich reist Quantz über Amsterdam, Hannover und Braunschweig zurück nach Dresden.

Nun folgt eine Zeit der Besinnung, vermutlich der Sortierung von Eindrücken. Er beginnt seinen eigenen Kompositionsstil zu entwickeln. Es entstehen Solosonaten für Flöte, aber auch Triosonaten für unterschiedliche Instrumente. 1728 wird er dann als Ordentliches Mitglied der Königlich – Sächsischen Hofkapelle eingestellt. Ab jetzt spielt er nur noch Flöte.

In dieser Eigenschaft hört ihn der damalige preußische Kronprinz – der spätere Friedrich der Große – bei einem Besuch am sächsischen Hofe. Und beim Gegenbesuch in Berlin verpflichtet ihn Königin Sophie Dorothea dann als Flötenlehrer für den sehr musikalischen und empfindsamen Kronprinzen. Dessen Vater, Soldatenkönig Friedrich Wilhelm I., sah diese Aktivitäten nur ungern (Quantz wird später berichten, dass er sich einmal bei einer Kontrolle vor Friedrichs Vater im Schrank verstecken muss). Zweimal im Jahr fährt Quantz nun nach Berlin, um Friedrich das Flötenspiel und Grundlagen der Komposition beizubringen.

1733 stirbt August der Starke und sein Sohn August III. kommt an die Macht.  1737 heiratet der 40jährige Quantz die Witwe Anna Rosina Carolina Schindler. Die Ehe scheint nicht glücklich zu sein und bleibt kinderlos. 1739 beginnt Quantz „wegen Mangels guter Flöten … selbst welche zu bohren“. Und 1740 besteigt Friedrich II. nach dem Tod des Vaters den preußischen Thron.

Der neue König von Preußen macht seinem Musiklehrer Quantz nun ein Angebot, das dieser nicht abschlagen kann. Man zieht nach Berlin. 2000 Taler jährliche Besoldung auf Lebenszeit (in Dresden waren es einmal 216 Thaler, am Ende 800), Sonderzahlungen für Kompositionen, 1oo Dukaten für jede gelieferte Flöte. Außerdem soll er nur dem König unterstehen und keinem anderen Vorgesetzten. 1741 im Dezember tritt  Johann Joachim Quantz als Königlicher Kammermusiker in Königlich Preußische Dienste ein. Er ist der mit Abstand höchstbezahlte Instrumentalist des Königs.

Am preußischen Hofe in Berlin und Potsdam erteilt er dem König nun beinahe täglich Unterricht und genießt als einziger das Privileg, ihn kritisieren zu dürfen. Quantz leitet Hauskonzerte und komponiert. Er baut weiterhin Flöten und denkt über das Weitergeben von Wissen nach. Daraus resultiert der 1752 herausgegebene „Versuch einer Anweisung, die Flöte traversiere zu spielen“. Das Werk trifft auf große Resonanz, erscheint sofort in mehreren europäischen Sprachen und erlebt bis heute viele Neuauflagen.

Es handelt sich dabei um ein Studienwerk, das das Spiel der Flöte durch und durch reflektiert. Aber nicht nur instrumentenspezifische Probleme werden untersucht, sondern auch aufführungspraktische Fragen beantwortet, sowie weitere Neuerungen im Flötenbau erklärt. Dem Leser und angehenden Musicus werden Einblicke  in alle  Facetten des Musiklebens gegeben. „Von den Eigenschaften, die von einem, der sich der Musik widmen will, erfordert werden“, „Von den Pflichten derer, welche accompagnieren“ oder „Von der Art das Adagio zu spielen“ sind nur drei der vielen Kapitelüberschriften. Gleichermaßen  liefert er Informationen über damalige Zeitgenossen wie Vivaldi oder Bach. Nebenbei ist es ihm aber auch ein wichtiges Anliegen, seinen von seiner Zeit in Dresden geprägten Standpunkt in der erbittert geführten Ästhetikdebatte der Berliner Kollegen (französischer contra italienischer Geschmack) darzulegen. Und die Summe seiner Lehransichten ließ Quantz in der Schlussvignette darstellen: sieben Musiker gruppieren sich um ein Cembalo und einen Sänger. Denn immer noch ist es der Gesang, an dem sich die Kunst des Flötenspiels orientieren soll.

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Johann Joachim Quantz schreibt beinahe 200 Sonaten für Flöte und 300 Konzerte, dazu noch Kammermusik in unterschiedlichen Besetzungen. Diese Werke bilden den Kern des Repertoires, das Friedrich bei seinen berühmten privaten Konzerten aufführt. Ein solches Konzert ist übrigens auf Adolph von Menzels ‚Flötenkonzert in Sanssoucis‘ dargestellt. Sowohl Quantz, als auch Franz Benda, Carl Heinrich Graun, Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach und Amalie von Preußen (neben Wilhelmine, nach Bayreuth verheiratet, eine weitere Schwester des Kronprinzen – sie komponiert auch) sind neben Friedrich II. darauf zu erkennen.

Bis zum Ende seines Lebens im Jahre 1773 bleibt Quantz am preußischen Hof. Eine bei seinem Tod unvollendete Sonate wird vom König selbst vervollständigt – eine außerordentlich wertschätzende Geste. Seinem Königlichen Kammermusiker lässt Friedrich ein aufwendiges Grabdenkmal mit Plastiken der Gebrüdern Räntz aufstellen.

Johann Joachim Quantz ist der Nachwelt v. a. durch seinen „Versuch einer Anweisung“ in Erinnerung geblieben. Denn nicht nur für Flötisten ist dieser Band eine nahezu grenzenlose Quelle an Information über das Instrument hinaus. Aber auch seine Werke begleiten uns Flötisten ein Leben lang – vom kleinen Duett bis zum großen Konzert kann man für alle Lebenslagen etwas finden. Und: Quantz war zur richtigen Zeit am richtigen Ort, als in Dresden der erste große Schritt zur Bildung eines unverwechselbaren ‚deutschen Stils‘ getan wurde.

Die kursiv gesetzten Zitate stammen aus:

Johann Joachim Quantz, „Versuch einer Anweisung die Flöte traversiere zu spielen“, Bärenreiter-Verlag

„Herrn Johann Joachim Quantzens Lebenslauf, von ihm selbst entworfen“, erschienen in „Historisch-Kritische Beyträge zur Aufnahme der Musik“ 1755, Herausgeber Friedrich Wilhelm Marpurg

Wollen Sie immer über die neuesten Aktivitäten informiert werden?

Kulturgeschichten der Wiener Küche

Die Geschichte der Selma Lagerlöf

Die Entstehung der Operette