John Constable

 

by Georg Rode

John Constable was an English painter who lived from 1776 to 1837. He was an early representative of English Romanticism, which, unlike in the time of Gainsborough, accepted landscape painting and even gave it a significant place, alongside mystical representatives such as Füssli or William Blake. Although often without documentary pretensions, most of Constable’s works were taken from his narrowly defined habitat in Suffolk and its environs, with clearly assignable landscape motifs. He wanted to become a “natural” painter and prepared his works with numerous sketches in pencil, watercolour and also oil. The latter were also already in the size of the later original.

John Constable, The Cornfield (Das Kornfeld), 1826 National Gallery, London; CC4.0, Link to licence

While Romanticism in general allows for the “visualisation” of feelings, in Constable’s case this is conditioned by his various biographical situations. In 1814, for example, he produced a sketch of Highland Castle on the Thames Estuary when his courtship of Maria Bicknell was ill-starred. In 1829, a year after the death of the woman he had finally married, he produced a large oil painting based on the sketch. I think that speaks of a great deal of melancholy.

John Constable, Hadleigh Castle, 1829. Yale Center for Britisch Art, New Haven, USA; Public Domain; Link to licence

Far more cheerful and with more “eye salve”, as Constable puts it, comes the first picture with the drinking boy, which shows part of Constable’s earlier school walk. Incidentally, the painting was not sold despite the favour it sought and achieved, but it was selected after his death for the National Gallery, then the Royal Art Collection, founded in 1824.

In addition to another complex of themes, I find two or three paintings remarkable. One is probably the best-known picture, The Hay Wain, from 1821, from the National Gallery, which found Géricault’s admiration on the occasion of a Paris exhibition. The vivid design of the clouds in particular then found recognition among the later Impressionists. His choice of colours, for example in the trees, is much closer to nature than comparable works by other artists who, for example, remained faithful to their models, the Dutch artists of the Baroque, with more brownish tones. The complementary contrast of red is deliberately set against the predominant green of the landscape. The brushwork is exact in the details, but more generous in the trees and the water, which also indicates the modern character of the painting for that time.

John Constable The Hay Wain (Der Heuwagen), 1821, National Gallery, London; CC4.0, Link licence

Full-Scale Study for The Hay Wain, John Constable, about 1821, England., © Victoria and Albert Museum, London; frei für : Non-commercial online use; Link licence

When comparing the paintings, it becomes clear from today’s point of view that even the preliminary studies are, according to the viewpoints of the later epochs, equally perfect paintings in their own way. The reason for his influence on the Impressionists becomes clear here. A modern picture in every respect, which of course could not have found favour with the public of the time.

At the end of this short visit to this artist, I would like to talk about a series of pictures that at first seem to be of secondary importance, the cloud studies. The special nature of his cloud depictions has already been mentioned in “The Hay Wain”. When the family first moved to Hampstead because of Constable’s wife’s already incipient respiratory weakness, he had a fantastic view of St Paul’s Cathedral and the sky. He made numerous quick watercolour sketches of cloud formations in order to be able to depict clouds in the large paintings as he saw fit.

John Constable, Cumulus Wolkenstudie, (Auf der Rückseite beschriftet: 21. Sept. 1822, Blick nach Süden lebhafter Wind von Ost, frisch, aber warm. Übersetzt) Yale Center for Britisch Art, New Haven, Connecticut; Public Domain; Link Licence

The accompanying text on the back consists of a precise description of the weather conditions. At the latest then one recognises the seriousness of these studies, which come across as light and graceful, but at times also powerful. Painted as preparations for the various backgrounds of his pictures, they represent an independent theme of his art.

The skilful sketching of the cloud formations is documented on the backs of the paintings with precise, almost scientific information. In England, people were interested in objective knowledge of nature because of Francis Bacon’s description, which is why it is assumed that the industrial revolution in the second half of the 18th century originated in England. Constable’s cloud studies can also be seen in this tradition, even if his interest in nature was purely artistic.

Other examples that I would like to let speak for themselves:

John Constable, Cloud Study, 1821, Oil on Paper, Laid Down on Board, Yale Center of modern Art, New York; Public Domain; Link to licence

John Constable, Cloud Study Wikimedia Commons zu den dort verbindlichen Rechten; Link zur Lizenz

John Constable,  Clouds, 1822, National Gallery of Victoria, Melbourne; inscribed in pen and ink on paper label on reverse c.r.: 5 Sepr (. under r) 1822. / 10 o clock Morng. looking South-East. / very brisk wind at West. / very bright + fresh Grey (inverted v under Grey) ; Link to licence

Literature and image rights used
Do you always want to be informed about the latest activities?

Fine Arts

History of Austria

Biographies/music

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

John Constable

 

von Georg Rode

John Constable war ein englischer Maler, der von 1776 – 1837 lebte. Er war ein früher Vertreter der englischen Romantik, die, anders als noch in der Zeit von Gainsborough, die Landschaftsmalerei akzeptierte, ihr sogar einen bedeutenden Platz einräumte, neben mystischen Vertretern, wie z.B. Füssli oder William Blake. Obwohl oft ohne dokumentarischen Anspruch stammen die meisten Arbeiten von Constable aus dem seinem eng umgrenzten Lebensraum in Suffolk und Umgebung, mit klar zuzuordnenden Landschaftsmotiven. Er wollte ein „natürlicher“ Maler werden und bereitete seine Arbeiten mit zahlreichen Skizzen mit Bleistift, Aquarell und auch Öl vor. Letztere auch schon in der Größe des späteren Originals.

John Constable, The Cornfield (Das Kornfeld), 1826 National Gallery, London; CC4.0, Link zur Lizenz 

Lässt die Romantik ganz allgemein die „Verbildlichung“ von Gefühlen zu, ist diese bei Constable durch seine verschiedenen biographischen Situationen bedingt. So fertige er zum Beispiel 1814 eine Skizze des Highland Castle an der Themsemündung an, als seine Werbung um Maria Bicknell unter einem schlechten Stern stand. 1829, ein Jahr nach dem Tod der schließlich doch geehelichten Frau fertigte er ein großes Ölbild nach der Skizze an. Ich denke, dass daraus ein sehr großes Maß an Melancholie spricht.

John Constable, Hadleigh Castle, 1829. Yale Center for Britisch Art, New Haven, USA; Public Domain; Link zur Lizenz

Weitaus lebensfroher und mit mehr „Augensalbe“, wie Constable es ausdrückt, kommt das erste Bild mit dem trinkenden Jungen daher, das einen Teil von Constables früheren Schulweg zeigt. Das Bild wurde übrigens trotz der angestrebten und erreichten Gefälligkeit nicht verkauft, aber es wurde nach seinem Tod für die 1824 gegründete National Gallery, damals königliche Kunstsammlung, ausgewählt.

Neben einem weiteren Themenkomplex finde ich zwei, bzw. drei Bilder bemerkenswert. Einmal das wohl bekannteste Bild „The Hay Wain“ (Der Heuwagen) von 1821 aus der National Gallery, das anlässlich einer Pariser Ausstellung die Bewunderung von Géricault fand. Insbesondere die lebhafte Gestaltung der Wolken fand dann bei den späteren Impressionisten Anerkennung. Seine Farbwahl, beispielweise bei den Bäumen, ist wesentlich näher an der Natur als vergleichbare Arbeiten anderer Künstler, die zum Beispiel mit eher bräunlicheren Farbtönen ihren Vorbildern, den niederländischen Künstlern des Barock treu blieben. Der Komplementärkontrast von Rot ist gezielt gesetzt zu dem überwiegenden Grün der Landschaft. Der Pinselauftrag ist in den Details exakt ausgeführt, aber großzügiger bei den Bäumen und dem Wasser, was ebenfalls auf den für jene Zeit modernen Charakter des Bildes hinweist.

John Constable The Hay Wain (Der Heuwagen), 1821, National Gallery, London; CC4.0, Link zur Lizenz

Full-Scale Study for The Hay Wain, John Constable, about 1821, England., © Victoria and Albert Museum, London; frei für : Non-commercial online use; Link zur Lizenz

Beim Vergleich der Bilder wird aus heutiger Sicht deutlich, dass bereits die Vorstudien nach den Gesichtspunkten der späteren Epochen gleichwertige, auf ihre Weise ebenso perfekte Bilder sind. Der Grund für seinen Einfluss auf die Impressionisten wird hier deutlich. Ein in jeder Hinsicht modernes Bild, dass so natürlich keinen Anklang beim damaligen Publikum finden konnte

 

Zum Schluss des kleinen Besuches bei diesem Künstler möchte ich auf eine zunächst nebensächlich erscheinende Reihe von Bildern zu sprechen kommen, den Wolkenstudien. Die Besonderheit seiner Wolkendarstellungen wurde bereits bei „The Hay Wain“ erwähnt. Als die Familie wegen der bereits einsetzenden Atemschwäche von Constables Frau zunächst nach Hampstead zog hatte er einen phantastischen Ausblick auf die Kathedrale St. Pauls und den Himmel. Er führte zahlreiche schnelle Aquarellskizzen von Wolkenformationen an, um Wolken in den großen Bildern nach seinen Vorstellungen darstellen zu können.

John Constable, Cumulus Wolkenstudie, (Auf der Rückseite beschriftet: 21. Sept. 1822, Blick nach Süden lebhafter Wind von Ost, frisch, aber warm. Übersetzt) Yale Center for Britisch Art, New Haven, Connecticut; Public Domain; Link zur Lizenz

Der Begleittext auf der Rückseite besteht aus einer genauen Beschreibung der Wetterverhältnisse. Spätestens dann erkennt man die Ernsthaftigkeit dieser Studien, die leicht und anmutig, bisweilen aber auch gewaltig daherkommen. Gemalt als Vorbereitungen für die verschiedenen Hintergründe seiner Bilder, stellen sie ein eigenständiges Thema seiner Kunst dar.

Die gekonnte Skizzierung der Wolkenformationen wird auf den Rückseiten der Bilder mit genauen, beinahe naturwissenschaftlichen Angaben dokumentiert. Für objektive Erkenntnisse über die Natur interessierte man sich in England aufgrund der Beschreibung Francis Bacons, weshalb man davon ausgeht, dass die industrielle Revolution in der zweiten Hälfte des 18 Jdh. von England ausging. In dieser Tradition darf man auch Constables Wolkenstudien sehen, auch wenn sein Interesse an der Natur rein künstlerisch war.

Weitere Beispiele, die ich für sich sprechen lassen möchte:

John Constable, Cloud Study, 1821, Oil on Paper, Laid Down on Board, Yale Center of modern Art, New York; Public Domain; Link zur Lizenz

John Constable, Cloud Study Wikimedia Commons zu den dort verbindlichen Rechten; Link zur Lizenz

John Constable,  Clouds, 1822, National Gallery of Victoria, Melbourne; inscribed in pen and ink on paper label on reverse c.r.: 5 Sepr (. under r) 1822. / 10 o clock Morng. looking South-East. / very brisk wind at West. / very bright + fresh Grey (inverted v under Grey) ; Link zur Lizenz

Verwendete Literatur und Bildrechte
Wollen Sie immer über die neuesten Aktivitäten informiert werden?

Der Gang nach Canossa

Die Kunst des Mittelalters

Kulturgeschichten der Wiener Küche

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This