Rouen – Cidre, Joie et Cathédrale

 

by Anja Weinberger

Or: What do Claude Monet and the young man with a green mohawk have in common?

“You’ve heard one, you’ve heard them all.”

Hasn’t each of us heard or perhaps even uttered this phrase, which I always find disparaging?

It never ceases to amaze me, and I must say that these few words are said quite often.

The following should be the context here, about which the inclined reader surely already thinks: If one has seen a Gothic cathedral, let’s say for example the one in Amiens, then there is no reason to go to Rouen to visit another one there; after all, everything is Gothic, everything is one and everything is the same. Just higher, brighter, the window glass more colorful. Or is it?

I can’t agree with that at all. Rather, the opposite is true: no two are alike. Maybe you can find distant similarities, that’s true, and the search for these similarities is also fun. But differences predominate – clearly.

For the more technically interested here in the boxes some additional information:

Roughly speaking, the Gothic period, as we call it from hindsight, is the time when builders built higher and higher, windowed the higher and higher walls more and more extensively, and had these windows glazed more and more colorfully and narratively by artists of the era.

On the outside of the building, Gothic buildings can also be easily recognized by the buttresses that are usually built in large numbers to support these much higher walls. This construction can look particularly bizarre or impressive around the chancel of a church.

In terms of dates, we locate the Gothic in architecture from 1140 to around 1500.

The epoch before that is the Romanesque, the one after that the Renaissance.

We came to Rouen on our tour of France from nearby Amiens, which is really not far; and – how nice – in such a case, the travel day is not only car day but also a first walking day.

Driving towards Rouen, it may well happen that you look down on the great city, its river and its cathedral from above. It is very impressive, because the church building has an almost surreal shape. It lies in the middle of the city like a large animal or a creature of some kind – one might think extraterrestrial. Its shape is so different. One reason for this is possibly to be found in the three completely different tower silhouettes and the rather elongated nave.

Rouen Kathedrale, © Anja Weinberger

(I briefly recall Amiens: there, the cathedral stands rather elevated and seems quite compact, although very powerful. Moreover, Amiens itself seems rather small-town and is actually less than half the size of Rouen).

Such things are rarely thought about, although the present size of the town in question and the location of the church within that community have much to do with the impact of the building.

This is probably most obvious in Wells, a town of 10,000 in southwest England, with its extremely prominent early Gothic cathedral of St. Andrew, the pilgrimage church with the unusual scissor arches inside that was popular in times past and therefore oversized.

One could almost say Wells is the cathedral or the cathedral is Wells. In front of its west façade, adorned by a particularly large number of statues, one feels as if one is in the living room of the city. Chairs are unfolded, people chat, sometimes you even see a round of people toasting happily.

The vast majority of Christian churches are oriented east-west. The choir with the altar is located in the east and is connected to the west facade by the nave. The main entrance is very often found there, or at least it used to be.

In Amiens, the cathedral dominates the old town, and the newer, very modern part of the city center has a life of its own.

Rouen, on the other hand, is quite a large city with a lot of beautiful corners; in one of these corners, admittedly of course in the old town, the cathedral stands as one of several Gothic churches in the city.

Rouen Kathedrale, © Anja Weinberger

Again, we got a very nice, small hotel on the edge of the colorful, lively, with a lot of well-maintained half-timbered Rouen old town.

Right next door was a store where everything necessary for a good “pique-nique” could be found. So we bought two bottles of cider, one “brut” and the other “doux”, a good baguette and some cheese. We also learned of the existence of our new great love in the culinary field, the “Confit d’oignons”. Since then, we always have this onion jam in the fridge, because for a long time now, my beloved doesn’t miss the opportunity to get the best red onions from the farmer next door every few weeks, and then spend a few hours tinkering around with all our pots and knives. I leave him alone because onions make me cry really quickly, but would gladly pay the high price of cleaning up anytime to be allowed to share in the delicious purple end result. But, surprisingly, I don’t have to, because, surprisingly every time, he leaves the kitchen spotless.

So now we are provided with the essentials, have moved into the small room, even took a nap, and already rises in me again this restlessness that strikes me every time near a long-awaited sight. My husband does not know this disease and usually prefers a longer rest. So I go off alone and I like that.

Because then you don’t have to adjust your step to anyone’s step, you can turn into a pretty archway without explanation because the decorations in the arching are definitely worth a look and – most importantly – you don’t have to feel guilty because, having arrived at the church, you would like to look at all the statues in peace. This takes a long time, because there are many, endowed with the most diverse attributes, and sometimes it takes some time to figure out who it is that stands in front of you.

Many saints, angels or prophets in the form of a statue or on paintings carry an attribute with them.

These accessories can be other living creatures, such as the angel in the evangelist Matthew, the dragon or worm in Margaret or a small dog in Saint Roch. Also possible are objects that point to the respective martyrdom, such as stones in the case of St. Stephen, the grate in the case of St. Lawrence; arrows stuck in the handsome, half-naked Sebastian, or a wheel that Catherine hides behind her shamefacedly yet proudly.  Clothing can also be a clue, as popes almost always wear a tiara, bishops a miter, and a mantle often marks the various apostles. Other attributes point to the respective life path or the role within the church. Thus Peter shows the key, James his pilgrim shell or Mary Magdalene an ointment vessel.

I was so excited to see the west facade here in Rouen. On the one hand, because it is already clear from the photos and descriptions that it has unusual proportions, but on the other hand also because Claude Monet painted it so often. Now I kept again to the advice of a dear friend, who had recommended to gain as much distance as possible to the facade as determinedly as possible, in order to turn around only then.

Rouen Kathedrale, © jackmac34

Presumably, some of the numerous assembled fellow spectators found this strange; because, as advised, I first stood with my back to the cathedral, closed my eyes and turned 180 degrees. If one would like to follow this admittedly good tip also, then I recommend a somewhat larger distance to the neighbor; or else not, because I made a nice acquaintance on this way.

The west facade of a Gothic cathedral is the successor of the typical westwork or west building in Carolingian, Ottonian or Romanesque – i.e. even older – churches. While the main purpose of this westwork was to allow the ruler present to participate in worship in relative seclusion, the Gothic west façade radiates primarily outward. It is usually the most elaborately decorated part of the church and tells many stories in a small space.

And so there it was, truly unique. Or is great the right word? One should be sparing with superlatives, but here, in my opinion, every single one is appropriate.

If in Amiens we were impressed above all by the calm and balance that the western front radiates despite its profusion of sculptures, here in Rouen we find the exact opposite. Three towers catch the eye, each different, each well formed in its own way, and one even built of different, rather yellowish stone. Or should we say seven towers? Four smaller, delicate towers tower over the central building above the three portals. And then we realize what is different here – the large west towers stand next to the facade and do not have portals on their lower floors.

(Let’s briefly recall Amiens; there, there is a main portal in the center and in each of the two west towers, right next to it, the two secondary portals that also open to the west, that is, also to the front).

If you let your eyes wander, you will quickly notice that here everything is more “untidy”. The left tower dates from the 12th century, so it was built under very, very early Gothic influence. The right tower, on the other hand, was not commissioned until the middle of the 15th century. Its name “Butterturm” refers to the indulgences used and its yellowish color indicates that the original quarries had probably been exploited. It was therefore necessary to switch to other stone from a different quarrying area.

Rouen Kathedrale, © franktheriaux

The indulgence was “invented” by the Catholic Church and refers to the remission of sins in exchange for something in return. This can be a confession or pilgrimage, or just filthy lucre. In Rouen, the construction of the Butter Tower was made possible with such money. If one had eaten butter during Lent, one could buy oneself free of this “sin”. If only there had been a few more pounds of butter on the menu of the parishioners – but no! And so the tower remained unfinished; instead of the planned spire, it is adorned by a pretty octagonal finial with a perfectly shaped balustrade.

Here in Rouen, too, there is a beautiful large rose window in the middle of the 56 m wide Flamboyant facade. However, it is almost lost in this diversity of form and shape, and is even partially obscured by the central Wimperg that rises up in front of it.

The tympanum of the central portal directly below this lash shows a particularly expressive root of Jesse.

What the heck is all this?

A Wimperg is a pointed ornamental gable or pediment-like crowning of a portal or window and was popularly used in the Gothic period to emphasize the general sense of height.

A tympanum is the pediment directly above the lintel of a portal. This tympanum is particularly well suited for telling numerous stone stories.

And the root of Jesse represents a common image motif within Christian iconography, which is said to show Jesus’ descent from the House of David. Most often, this image is depicted as a tree. The well-known Christmas carol “Es ist ein Ros’ entsprungen” is also in this context.

Flamboyant or Flamboyant Gothic is the name given to the last phase of Gothic in France and Belgium. During this period, many elements of Gothic were once again exaggerated. The word “flamboyant” means “flaming” and can be found again in the many upwardly extended elements that resemble flames.

In other parts of Europe, too, there are such late Gothic manifestations. English late Gothic is called “Perpendicular Style,” in Portugal it is called “Manueline” or “Emanuelism,” and in Spain it is called “Isabelline Gothic.” The latter refer to the name of the current ruler.

All these varieties then lead to the Renaissance throughout Europe.

The highest tower here in Rouen is the cast-iron crossing tower. Erected in 1876, it is also the newest of the towers and as such a masterpiece of structural engineering. With 156 meters it is also the highest church tower in France, only the tower of the Ulm Cathedral in Germany can boast a few meters more.

(Suddenly I have to think of Amiens again, because there is a crossing tower there, too. And although it too towers over the church, it does not come to the fore, it is narrow, almost delicate. Probably many viewers don’t even notice it).

The name “crossing tower” refers to the position of the tower in the ground plan of the church.

The crossing is the place where the transept and nave intersect, some say penetrate. Architecturally, this is a particularly delicate spot and affects the stability of the entire structure. Above the crossing, sometimes above the dome there, rises the crossing tower.

The magnificent church stump in Beauvais, not so far away, can tell many stories there. One wanted to build especially high, especially “special”. Even before the nave had grown far enough to reach the west front, a tower was placed on the crossing, which adjoins the finished choir. This could not go well, the 150m high tower soon collapsed, smashing the vault, the choir stalls and the rood screen. Miraculously, no one was killed. Later, the Enlightenment and the Revolution did their part, and so this unique and unfinished testimony of classical Gothic cathedral architecture still stands in Beauvais today.

Sadly, the word “crossing tower” gained notoriety when during the fire of Notre Dame Cathedral in Paris in April 2019, this very tower collapsed.

In Germany, we find the type of building with a crossing tower rather rarely, but very often in Norman church construction.

Claude Monet painted Rouen Cathedral 33 times between 1892 and 1894. 28 of these pictures show the west facade in a more or less oblique close-up view. The actual architecture is not reproduced strictly true to reality. Rather, the painter puts his main focus on the different lighting conditions of the different day – and seasons. Thus enchanted views are created – sometimes full of harmony in blue, sometimes in pale white-gray in the early morning, sometimes almost oriental-looking in golden tones. Unfortunately, these works of art are scattered to the winds; and as far as I know, only at the Musée d’Orsay in Paris can one marvel at several side by side.

Not only the confit d’oignons was a new discovery for us, but also the highly professional practice of “Son et Lumière” everywhere in France. Whoever does not know this yet, has missed something. With great technical effort, buildings, and very often the Gothic cathedrals throughout the country, are illuminated and sounded.

There are simple colored spotlights or complex light choreographies with lots of potential for surprises.

Claude Monet, Rouen Cathedral, West Façade, 1894; © National Gallery of Art, Washington; Chester Dale Collection; Open Access Image; Link zum Bild

That evening in Rouen, however, we knew nothing about it. And so we were quite surprised and even a little startled when a group of young adults dressed all in black – one of them with an impressive, bright green mohawk – came briskly up to us, who were standing at the edge of the square in the dark hoping for a free table in the café, and pushed us aside. Strictly speaking, not unfriendly, just prompting.

But then we quickly understood: we were simply in the way here – after all, all around the square are the necessary projectors for this magical light show, and all the technicians involved are dressed in black to attract as little attention as possible. The young man with green hair even quickly pulled a black cap over his head before the first round of light-and-sound began.

We were doubly lucky. The table in whose direction we were pushed was emptying at that moment; and so, completely by surprise, we were able to experience a wonderful evening with “Son et Lumière”, in front of us a delicious glass of cider.

Monet and the young man with a green mohawk made Notre Dame shine in glorious colors – for just under an hour, as if in a dream.

machine-translated from German

Literature used
Do you always want to be informed about our latest activities?

Fine Arts

History of Austria

Biographies/music

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Rouen – Cidre, Joie et Cathédrale

 

von Anja Weinberger

Oder: Was haben Claude Monet und der junge Mann mit grünem Irokesenschnitt gemeinsam?

***

„Kennt man eine, kennt man alle.“

Hat nicht jeder von uns schon einmal diesen wie ich immer finde geringschätzigen Satz gehört oder vielleicht sogar ausgesprochen?

Mich verblüfft er immer wieder und ich muss sagen, so daher gesagt werden diese paar Worte ganz schön oft.

Folgendes soll hier der Zusammenhang sein, über den der geneigte Leser bestimmt schon nachdenkt: Hat man eine gotische Kathedrale gesehen, sagen wir z. B. die in Amiens, dann gibt es keinen Grund nach Rouen zu fahren, um dort eine andere zu besuchen; ist doch alles Gotik, alles eins und alles gleich. Eben einfach höher, heller, das Fensterglas bunter. Oder?

Dem kann ich ganz und gar nicht zustimmen. Denn eher trifft das Gegenteil zu: keine zwei sind gleich. Vielleicht kann man entfernte Ähnlichkeiten finden, das ist wahr, und die Suche nach diesen Ähnlichkeiten macht auch Spaß. Aber Unterschiede überwiegen –  eindeutig.

Für die fachlich Interessierteren hier in den Kästen einige zusätzliche Informationen:

Grob gesagt ist die Zeitspanne der Gotik, wie wir sie aus der Rück-Schau nennen, die Zeit, in der Baumeister immer höher bauten, die immer höheren Mauern immer mehr und großflächiger durchfensterten und diese Fenster von Künstlern der Epoche immer bunter und erzählkräftiger verglasen ließen.

Außen am Bau erkennt man gotische Gebäude auch gut an den meist in großer Anzahl gemauerten Strebepfeilern, die diese viel höheren Mauern stützen sollen. Besonders bizarr oder eindrucksvoll kann dieses Konstrukt rund um den Chor einer Kirche aussehen.

In Jahreszahlen ausgedrückt verorten wie die Gotik in der Architektur ab 1140 bis um 1500.

Die Epoche davor ist die Romanik, die danach die Renaissance.

Wir sind auf unserer Frankreichrundreise vom nahen Amiens aus nach Rouen gekommen, das ist wirklich nicht weit; und – wie schön – in einem solchen Falle ist der Reisetag nicht nur Auto-Tag sondern auch gleich ein erster Spazier-Tag.

Fährt man auf Rouen zu, so kann es gut passieren, dass man von oben auf die große Stadt, ihren Fluss und ihre Kathedrale schaut. Sehr eindrucksvoll ist das, denn der Kirchenbau hat eine beinahe surreale Form. Er liegt wie ein großes Tier oder ein irgendwie geartetes  – man könnte meinen außerirdisches – Lebewesen mitten in der Stadt. Seine Form ist so anders. Ein Grund dafür ist möglicherweise in den drei völlig unterschiedlichen Turmsilhouetten und dem recht langgezogenen Kirchenschiff zu suchen.

Rouen Kathedrale, © Anja Weinberger

(Kurz erinnere ich mich zurück an Amiens: Dort steht die Kathedrale eher erhöht und wirkt recht kompakt, obwohl sehr mächtig. Außerdem erscheint Amiens selbst eher kleinstädtisch und ist  im Vergleich zu Rouen ja auch tatsächlich weniger als halb so groß.)

Über solche Dinge denkt man selten nach, obwohl die heutige Größe der jeweiligen Stadt und die Lage der Kirche innerhalb dieses Gemeinwesens viel mit der Wirkung des Gebäudes zu tun hat.

Am augenscheinlichsten ist das wohl im 10 000-Seelen-Örtchen Wells in Südwestengland mit der äußerst prominenten frühgotischen Kathedrale St. Andrew, der in vergangenen Zeiten gern besuchten und deshalb überdimensional großen Pilgerkirche mit den außergewöhnlichen Scherenbögen im Inneren.

Man könnte beinahe sagen, Wells ist die Kathedrale oder die Kathedrale ist Wells. Vor ihrer von besonders vielen Statuen geschmückten Westfassade fühlt man sich wie im Wohnzimmer der Stadt. Stühle werden aufgeklappt, man plaudert, manchmal sieht man sogar eine Runde, die fröhlich anstößt.

Die allermeisten christlichen Kirchen sind in Ost-West-Richtung orientiert. Der Chor mit dem Altar liegt im Osten und wird durch das Langhaus mit der Westfassade verbunden. Dort ist sehr häufig der Haupteingang zu finden oder war es zumindest ursprünglich einmal.

In Amiens dominiert die Kathedrale die Altstadt, und der neuere, sehr moderne Teil der Innenstadt führt ein Eigenleben.

Rouen hingegen ist eine recht große Stadt mit sehr vielen schönen Ecken; in einer dieser Ecken, zugegebenermaßen natürlich in der Altstadt, steht die Kathedrale als eine von mehreren gotischen Kirchen der Stadt.

Rouen Kathedrale, © Anja Weinberger

Wieder haben wir auch hier ein sehr schönes, kleines Hotel erwischt am Rande der kunterbunten, quirligen, mit sehr viel gut gepflegtem Fachwerk ausgestatteten Altstadt Rouens.

Gleich nebenan befand sich ein Laden, in dem alles Nötige für ein gutes „Pique-Nique“ zu finden war. Wir kauften also zwei Flaschen Cidre, einen „brut“ und den anderen „doux“, ein gutes Baguette und etwas Käse. Außerdem erfuhren wir von der Existenz unserer neuen großen Liebe im kulinarischen Bereich, dem „Confit d’oignons“. Diese Zwiebelkonfitüre haben wir seitdem immer im Kühlschrank, denn längst lässt es sich mein Liebster nicht mehr nehmen, alle paar Wochen beim Bauern nebenan die besten roten Zwiebeln zu besorgen, um dann ein paar Stunden mit all unseren Töpfen und Messern herumzuwerkeln. Ich lasse ihn alleine, weil mich Zwiebeln ganz schnell zum Weinen bringen, würde aber gerne und jederzeit den hohen Preis des Aufräumens zahlen, um an dem leckeren violettfarbenen Endergebnis teilhaben zu dürfen. Das muss ich aber erstaunlicherweise gar nicht, denn, jedes Mal wieder überraschend, hinterläßt er die Küche picobello.  

Nun sind wir also mit dem Nötigsten versorgt, haben das kleine Zimmer bezogen, sogar ein Nickerchen gemacht, und schon steigt in mir wieder diese Unruhe auf, die mich jedes Mal in der Nähe einer lange erwarteten Sehenswürdigkeit befällt. Mein Mann kennt diese Krankheit nicht und zieht meist eine längere Ruhepause vor. Also gehe ich alleine los und das gefällt mir gut.

Denn man muss dann den Schritt an niemandes Schritt anpassen, man kann ohne Erklärung in einen hübschen Torbogen einbiegen, weil die Verzierungen in der Wölbung unbedingt einen Blick wert sind und – am allerwichtigsten – man muss kein schlechtes Gewissen haben, weil man gerne, bei der Kirche angekommen, in Ruhe alle Statuen betrachten möchte. Das dauert lange, denn es gibt viele, ausgestattet mit den unterschiedlichsten Attributen, und manchmal braucht man einige Zeit, um herauszufinden, wer das ist, der da vor einem steht.

Viele Heilige, Engel oder Propheten in Form einer Statue oder auf Gemälden tragen ein Attribut mit sich herum.

Diese Beiwerke können andere Lebewesen sein, wie z.B. der Engel beim Evangelisten Matthäus, der Drache oder Wurm bei Margarete oder ein kleiner Hund bei Sankt Rochus. Möglich sind auch Gegenstände, die auf das jeweilige Martyrium hinweisen, wie z.B. Steine bei Stefan, der Gitterrost bei Lorenz; Pfeile, die im hübschen, halbnackten Sebastian stecken oder ein Rad, das Katharina schamhaft und doch stolz hinter sich verbirgt.  Auch die Kleidung kann ein Hinweis sein, denn Päpste tragen beinahe immer eine Tiara, Bischöfe eine Mitra und ein Mantel kennzeichnet häufig die verschiedenen Apostel. Andere Attribute weisen auf den jeweiligen Lebensweg hin oder die Rolle innerhalb der Kirche. So zeigt Petrus den Schlüssel, Jakobus seine Pilgermuschel oder Maria Magdalena ein Salbgefäß.

Ich war so gespannt auf die Westfassade hier in Rouen. Einerseits, weil schon aus den Fotos und Beschreibungen hervorgeht, dass sie ungewöhnliche Proportionen besitzt, aber andererseits auch, weil Claude Monet sie so oft gemalt hat. Nun hielt ich mich wieder an den Rat eines lieben Freundes, der empfohlen hatte, möglichst zielstrebig so viel Abstand wie möglich zur Fassade zu gewinnen, um sich dann erst umzudrehen.

Rouen Kathedrale, © jackmac34

Vermutlich fanden das einige der zahlreich versammelten Mit-Schauer seltsam; denn, wie geraten, blieb ich zunächst mit dem Rücken zur Kathedrale stehen, schloss die Augen und drehte mich um 180 Grad. Möchte man diesen zugegebenermaßen guten Tipp ebenfalls befolgen, so empfehle ich einen etwas größeren Abstand zum Nachbarn; oder aber auch nicht, denn ich schloss auf diesem Wege eine nette Bekanntschaft.

Die Westfassade einer gotischen Kathedrale ist der Nachfolger des typischen Westwerkes oder Westbaues bei karolingischen, ottonischen oder romanischen – also noch älteren – Kirchen. War es die hauptsächliche Aufgabe dieses Westwerkes, dem anwesenden Herrscher die Teilnahme am Gottesdienst in relativer Abgeschiedenheit zu ermöglichen, so strahlt die gotische Westfassade vor allem nach außen. Meist ist sie der am aufwendigsten verzierte Bauteil der Kirche und erzählt auf engem Raum viele Geschichten.

Und da war sie also, wirklich einzigartig. Oder ist großartig das richtige Wort? Man sollte ja sparsam umgehen mit Superlativen, aber hier ist, wie ich finde, jeder einzelne angebracht.

Beeindrucken in Amiens vor allem die Ruhe und Ausgeglichenheit, die die Westfront trotz ihrer Überfülle an Skulpturen ausstrahlt, so finden wir hier in Rouen das genaue Gegenteil. Drei Türme springen ins Auge, jeder anders, jeder auf seine Art wohlgeformt und einer gar aus anderem, eher gelblichem Gestein erbaut. Oder soll man sagen sieben Türme? Vier kleinere zierliche Türmchen überragen nämlich den Mittelbau oberhalb der drei Portale. Und da wird uns auch klar, was hier vor allem anders ist – die großen West-Türme stehen neben der Fassade und beheimaten in ihren unteren Stockwerken keine Portale.

(Erinnern wir uns kurz zurück an Amiens; dort gibt es ein Hauptportal in der Mitte und in jedem der beiden Westtürme, gleich daneben, die beiden Nebenportale, die sich auch nach Westen, also auch nach vorne, öffnen.)

Lässt man den Blick wandern, so stellt man schnell fest, dass hier alles „unaufgeräumter“ ist. Der linke Turm stammt aus dem 12. Jahrhundert, ist also unter sehr, sehr frühem gotischem Einfluss entstanden. Der rechte Turm hingegen wird erst Mitte des 15. Jahrhunderts in Auftrag gegeben. Sein Name „Butterturm“ verweist auf die verwendeten Ablassgelder und seine gelbliche Farbe zeigt an, dass die ursprünglichen Steinbrüche wohl ausgebeutet waren. Man musste also auf  anderen Stein aus einem anderen Abbaugebiet ausweichen.

Rouen Kathedrale, © franktheriaux

Der Ablass wurde von der katholischen Kirche „erfunden“ und bezeichnet den Erlass der Sündenstrafen im Wechselspiel mit einer entsprechenden Gegenleistung. Das kann eine Beichte oder Wallfahrt sein, oder eben schnöder Mammon. In Rouen wurde der Bau des Butterturmes mit solchen Geldern ermöglicht. Hatte man in der Fastenzeit Butter verspeist, so konnte man sich von dieser „Sünde“ freikaufen. Wären doch auf dem Speiseplan der Gemeindemitglieder noch ein paar Pfund Butter mehr gestanden –  aber nein! Und so blieb der Turm unvollendet; statt der geplanten Spitze ziert ihn ein hübscher oktogonaler Abschluss mit formvollendeter Balustrade.

Auch hier in Rouen gibt es eine schöne große Rosette inmitten der 56 m breiten Flamboyant-Fassade. Jedoch geht sie in dieser Vielfalt an Form und Gestalt beinahe unter, wird zum Teil gar verdeckt von dem vor ihr in die Höhe ragenden Wimperg des Mittelportales.

Das Tympanon des mittleren Portals direkt unterhalb dieses Wimperges zeigt dafür eine besonders ausdrucksstarke Wurzel Jesse.

Was ist das denn bloß alles?

Ein Wimperg ist ein spitz zulaufender Ziergiebel oder eine giebelartige Bekrönung eines Portales oder Fensters und wurde in der Gotik gerne eingesetzt, um den allgemeinen Höhendrang zu unterstreichen.

Unter einem Tympanon versteht man das Giebelfeld direkt über dem Türsturz eines Portals. Dieses Tympanon eignet sich besonders gut, um zahlreiche steinerne Geschichten zu erzählen.

Und die Wurzel Jesse stellt ein verbreitetes Bildmotiv innerhalb der christlichen Ikonographie dar, das die Abstammung Jesu aus dem Hause Davids zeigen soll. Meist wird dieses Bild als Baum dargestellt. Auch das bekannte Weihnachtslied „Es ist ein Ros‘ entsprungen“ steht in diesem Kontext.

Als Flamboyant oder Flamboyantgotik wird die letzte Phase der Gotik in Frankreich und Belgien bezeichnet. Während dieser Zeit wurden viele Elemente der Gotik noch einmal überhöht. Das Wort „flamboyant“ bedeutet „flammend“ und lässt sich wiederfinden in den vielen nach oben verlängerten Elementen, die an Flammen erinnern.

Auch in anderen Teilen Europas gibt es solch gotische Späterscheinungen. Die englische Spätgotik wird „Perpendicular Style“ genannt, in Portugal spricht man von der „Manuelinik“ oder dem „Emanuelismus“ und in Spanien von der „Isabellinischen Gotik“. Die letzteren beziehen sich auf den Namen des gerade Herrschenden.

All diese Spielarten münden dann in ganz Europa in die Renaissance.

Der höchste Turm hier in Rouen ist der gusseiserne Vierungsturm. Aufgesetzt im Jahre 1876 ist er auch der neuste der Türme und als solcher ein Meisterwerk der Statik. Mit 156 Metern zeichnet er außerdem als höchster Kirchturm Frankreichs, lediglich der Turm des Ulmer Münsters in Deutschland kann noch ein paar Meter mehr aufweisen.

(Plötzlich muss ich wieder an Amiens denken, denn auch dort gibt es einen Vierungsturm. Und obwohl auch er die Kirche überragt, tritt er nicht in den Vordergrund, ist schmal, beinahe zierlich. Vermutlich fällt er vielen Betrachtern gar nicht auf.)

Der Name „Vierungsturm“ bezieht sich auf die Stellung des Turmes im Grundriss der Kirche.

Die Vierung ist der Ort, an dem sich Querhaus und Langhaus kreuzen, manche sagen durchdringen. Architektonisch betrachtet ist das eine besonders heikle Stelle und beeinflusst die Stabilität des ganzen Bauwerkes. Über der Vierung, manchmal über der dortigen Kuppel, ragt der Vierungsturm auf.

Der großartige Kirchenstumpf in Beauvais, nicht so weit entfernt, kann da viele Geschichten erzählen. Man wollte besonders hoch hinaus, besonders „besonders“ bauen. Noch ehe das Langhaus weit genug bis zur Westfront gediehen war, wurde auf die Vierung, die an den fertigen Chor grenzt, ein Turm gesetzt. Das konnte nicht gut gehen, der 150m hohe Turm stürzte bald ein, zerschlug das Gewölbe, die Chorgestühle und den Lettner. Wie durch ein Wunder kam dabei niemand ums Leben. Später taten Aufklärung und Revolution das Ihre und so steht in Beauvais bis heute dieses einmalige und unfertige Zeugnis der klassischen gotischen Kathedralarchitektur.

Traurige Bekanntheit errang das Wort „Vierungsturm“, als beim Brand der Kathedrale Notre Dame in Paris im April 2019 genau dieser einstürzte.

In Deutschland finden wir den Bautyp mit Vierungsturm eher selten, hingegen sehr häufig im normannischen Kirchenbau.

33mal hat Claude Monet zwischen 1892 und 1894 die Kathedrale von Rouen gemalt. 28 dieser Bilder zeigen die Westfassade in mehr oder weniger schräger Nahsicht. Die tatsächliche Architektur ist dabei nicht streng realitätsgetreu wiedergegeben. Vielmehr legt der Maler sein Hauptaugenmerk auf die unterschiedlichen Lichtverhältnisse der verschiedenen Tages – und Jahreszeiten. So sind verwunschene Ansichten entstanden – mal voller Harmonie in blau, mal in fahlem weiß-grau am frühen Morgen, mal beinahe orientalisch anmutend in Goldtönen. Leider sind diese Kunstwerke in alle Winde zerstreut; und soviel ich weiß, kann man nur im Pariser Musée d’Orsay mehrere nebeneinander bestaunen.

Nicht nur das Confit d’oignons war für uns eine Neuentdeckung, sondern auch die überall in Frankreich höchst professionelle Praxis des „Son et Lumière“. Wer das noch nicht kennt, hat etwas verpasst. Mit großem technischem Aufwand werden dabei Bauwerke, und eben sehr häufig die gotischen Kathedralen im ganzen Land, beleuchtet und beschallt.

Es gibt einfache farbige Strahler oder aber komplexe Lichtchoreografien mit jeder Menge Überraschungspotenzial.

 

Claude Monet, Rouen Cathedral, West Façade, 1894; © National Gallery of Art, Washington; Chester Dale Collection; Open Access Image; Link zum Bild

An diesem Abend in Rouen wussten wir davon jedoch noch nichts. Und so waren wir recht überrascht und sogar ein wenig erschrocken, als eine Gruppe junger, ganz in schwarz gekleideter Erwachsener – einer davon mit eindrucksvollem, leuchtend grünen Irokesenschnitt –  forsch auf uns, die wir am Rande des Platzes im Dunklen standen und auf einen freien Tisch im Café hofften, zukam und uns zur Seite drängte. Genau genommen nicht unfreundlich, einfach nur auffordernd.

Schnell haben wir dann aber verstanden: wir waren hier einfach im Weg – rund um die Platzanlage sind schließlich die nötigen Projektoren für dieses magische Lichterspiel aufgestellt, und alle beteiligten Techniker sind schwarz gekleidet, um möglichst wenig aufzufallen. Sogar eine schwarze Mütze hat sich der junge Mann mit grüner Haartracht schnell noch über den Kopf gezogen, ehe die erste Licht-und-Ton-Runde begann.

Wir hatten doppeltes Glück. Der Tisch, in dessen Richtung wir geschoben wurden, leerte sich in diesem Moment; und so konnten wir völlig überraschend einen herrlichen Abend mit „Son et Lumière“ erleben, vor uns ein köstliches Glas Cidre.

Monet und der junge Mann mit grünem Iro ließen Notre Dame in herrlichen Farben leuchten – eine knappe Stunde wie im Traum.

Meine französischen Kulturgeschichten – das neue Buch von Anja Weinberger!

Mit Kapiteln zu »Französische Komponisten der Klassik«, Ravels Boléro oder der Marseillaise. Geschichten zu »Reims und die Rosetten der Kathedrale«, zum Mont Saint Michel oder der Bretagne.

Erfahren Sie mehr über Coco Chanel, Marcel Proust, Vincent van Gogh und vielem mehr!

Meine französischen Kulturgeschichten – das neue Buch von Anja Weinberger!

Verwendete Literatur
Wollen Sie immer über die neuesten Aktivitäten informiert werden?

Alle Artikel zur Geschichte der Flöte

Die Geschichte Österreichs

Die Leiermann Buchreihe

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This